Rethink, Revamp, Restyle.. all after work!

Sigh – I’m high and drunk on my three blissful hours spent this evening at the first workshop in Ballynafeigh community centre by Rethink, Revamp, Restyle – an amazing collaboration by SS favourite ‘The Fashion Souk’ and Belfast Council. The ethos is on creating and ‘repurposing’ items to prevent waste and give them a new life of usefulness!

After a mad dash from work I found myself with lots of lovely ladies making cushions out of old jumpers and shirts – in a flash, whilst helping to reduce the fourteen double decker bus loads of clothes which are thrown into the waste every WEEK!

jumper cushion

shirt cushion

jumper embellishment

shirt embellishment

The fabulous team of demonstrators poked us into action and inspiration with a quick how to, and left us to wade into piles of old clothes and come out with a unique creation! No better way to spend an evening I tell you, I haven’t felt this relaxed in so long, with the added delight of new additions to my couch.. the husband probably wont share the sentiment that we needed a few more cushions though! I’m  quite pleased with how I matched them into my living room scheme..

My only problem was cushion envy, so many juicy little creations –  and the fact I forgot my camera, photos of the next one to come. Oh but BBC newsline did turn up, so keep them peeled on the regional news!!

Jealous? Check out the Rethink, Revamp, Restyle group on facebook to see what slots are left that you could sign up for. It’s old furniture revamping next time, can’t wait!

15 Comments

Filed under ethical, fashion

15 responses to “Rethink, Revamp, Restyle.. all after work!

  1. oooh lovely! a post swap-shop idea to use up all the leftovers. yeah, i have cushion-itis as well.

  2. Pingback: TV Sista | Salvage Sisters

  3. Pingback: Showcase – Rethink, Revamp, Restyle | Salvage Sisters

  4. Pingback: Showcase – Rethink, Revamp, Restyle | Salvage Sisters

  5. Pingback: TV Sista | Salvage Sisters

  6. Pingback: Knit and Knatter | Salvage Sisters

  7. Pingback: Knit and Knatter | Salvage Sisters

  8. I am truly thankful to the owner of this web site who has shared this
    impressive post at here.

  9. Everyone loves what you guys are usually up too. This type of clever work and reporting!

    Keep up the very good works guys I’ve added you guys to my blogroll.

  10. I really love your blog.. Excellent colors & theme.
    Did you create this website yourself? Please reply back as I’m looking to create my own site and would love to find out where you got this from or exactly what the theme is named. Kudos!

  11. Excellent post. I used to be checking constantly this weblog and I am inspired!

    Extremely useful information particularly the closing part 🙂 I take care of
    such information a lot. I used to be looking for this particular information for a very
    lengthy time. Thanks and good luck.

  12. It’s very effortless to find out any topic on net as compared to books, as I found this piece of writing at this web page.

  13. My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find many of your post’s to be exactly I’m looking for.
    Would you offer guest writers to write content in your case?
    I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you write concerning here. Again, awesome blog!

  14. Your method of explaining all in this post is
    genuinely pleasant, every one be capable of simply be aware of it, Thanks a
    lot.

Leave a Reply

